Kinaesthetic Classroom Observation

As I am completing a Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood), I was required to observe one upper primary class per week. I was so very glad that I was required to undertake this as I have never been in an upper primary classroom and thoroughly enjoyed it. During one of my observations, the teacher asked me to be one of her class pupils so that I could get a real feel for her teaching methods. The thing I most loved about this teacher was that she had a kinaesthetic classroom. Rather then having the students sitting at tables using chairs, the classroom was filled with pedal desks, exercise balls and balance boards. Every 15 minutes the students are required to rotate around the room to a different area. I was amazed at the high level of engagement from the students during the one and half hour English lesson! As an acting student I too found myself highly engaged in what was being taught and loved every minute of it! Definitely something I’ll be researching and exploring more with when I become a teacher in my own classroom. If you want to learn more about kinaesthetic classrooms and products click on this link

Leave a Reply

